Toshihide Maskawa

Toshihide Maskawa born in Nagoya Japan is a Theoretical Physicist. He is well known for his work on the CP violation in particle physics. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in physics 2008 for his contribution to the discovery of origin of broken symmetry. He shared the Prize with Makoto Kobayashi and Yoichiro Nambu.

Toshihide Maskawa along with Makoto Kobayashi worked on explaining broken symmetry within the Standard model of Particle Physics. Both these men predicted that there are at least three generations of quarks. This prediction was proved after 4 years with the discovery of bottom quark.

Toshihide Maskawa was also honored with Sakurai Prize (1985), Japan Academy Prize (1985), Asahi Prize (1994) and JapanĀ Order of Culture (2008).

Public Rating
0 points
Academy Rating
160 points
Overall Rating
160 points
Physicist PHYSICIST (Theoretical Physicist)
Toshihide Masukawa
Previous Next

Recent Findings From Toshihide Maskawa

Subscribe by RSS

No record yet.

  • Nobel Prize in Physics (2008)
  • Japan Order of Culture (2008)
  • Asahi Prize (1994)
  • Japan Academy Prize (1985)
  • Sakurai Prize (1985)

No record yet.

Videos of Toshihide Maskawa

Photos of Toshihide Maskawa

Comments are closed.

  • Postings

    Special Professor and Director General
    Kobayashi-Maskawa Institute for the Origin of Particles and the Universe, Nagoya University

    Director of Maskawa Institute for Science and Culture
    Kyoto Sangyo University

    Professor Emeritus
    Kyoto University