University of Maryland

The origins of the University of Maryland date back to 1856 when the Maryland Agricultural College was chartered. The institution evolved into the Maryland State College and then the University of Maryland. The institution was accredited as a university in 1925. The University of Maryland has an endowment of $672 billion and almost 40,000 students. Numerous Nobel Laureates are associated with the University of Maryland, including John C. Mather, an adjunct physics professor who shared a Nobel Prize in Physics in 2006, and Professor Thomas C. Schelling, who shared a Nobel Prize for Economics in 2005.

Total staff score
400 points
# Scientist Country Public Score Academic Score Overall Score
John C Mather
Dr John C. Mather
Physicist (Astrophysicist, Cosmologist)
United States 0 400 400