University of Strasbourg

While its roots stretch back to the 16th century, the University of Strasbourg in its current form was established in 2009 when three universities, including the Louis Pasteur University, were reunited. Strasbourg is located in the Alsace region, which has at times belonged to either Germany or France. While the university’s history has been influenced by both French and Germany culture, since Strasbourg is currently in France, the working language of the university is French. The current university educates over 40 thousand students. Over one in five of the total student population and about half of the doctoral candidates are foreign students. The University of Strasbourg has 77 research units, in four sectors: Law, Economics and Management; the Humanities and Social Sciences; Science and Technology; and Health. Seventeen Nobel Prize winners are associated with the current university and its predecessors.

Total staff score
631 points
# Scientist Country Public Score Academic Score Overall Score
Jean-Marie Lehn
Jean-Marie Lehn
Chemist (synthesis of the cryptands)
France 2 629 631