University of Tsukuba

The University of Tsukuba, the largest campus in Japan with 258 hectares, has an enrolment of 17,000 students of which some 2,000 are foreign students. While the university was founded in 1973, its history extends back another hundred years to its predecessors the Tokyo Normal School and the Tokyo University of Education. The school acquired its current name when the university moved from Tokyo to Tsukuba. Tsukuba, is also home to the Tsukuba Science City, which contains over 200 research facilities and is considered the research hot-spot in Japan by many and employs over 15,000 scientists from around the world. Thomson Reuters ranked the University of Tsukuba as the twelfth best research university in Japan. Three Nobel Prize winners are associated with the University of Tsukuba.

Total staff score
221 points
# Scientist Country Public Score Academic Score Overall Score
Hideki Shirakawa
Hideki Shirakawa
Chemist (Chemist)
Japan 1 220 221