Max Planck Society

The Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science, formerly the Kaiser Wilhelm Society, is a German research organization that operates 80 institutes and research facilities and has established numerous research schools in a wide variety of fields. A small sampling of its institutes includes the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Coal Research, Demographic Research, Extraterrestrial Physics, Mathematics, and Quantum Optics. All but four of its institutes and one of its research facilities are located in Germany; however, the Society has plans to expand its international presence. The Society took its name from a former president of the Kaiser Wilhelm Society, Max Planck. Planck and Einstein are among the 15 Nobel Prize winners associated with the Kaiser Wilhelm Society. Since the Kaiser Wilhelm Society was reinvented as the Max Planck Society in 1948, 17 of its scientists have won Nobel Prizes in chemistry, physics, and medicine.

Total staff score
3512 points
# Scientist Country Public Score Academic Score Overall Score
Theodor Hansch
Theodor Hansch
Physicist (laser-based precision spectroscopy)
Germany 1 1101 1102
Paul Crutzen
Paul J. Crutzen
Chemist (Atmospheric Chemist)
Netherlands 0 981 981
Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard
Biologist (Genetic control of embryonic development)
Germany 1 868 869
Bert Sakmann
Biologist (Function of single ion channels in cells)
Germany 1 559 560